Treasure Chest Thursday – The tiny Bible

Harvey William Harlow was drafted into the US Army in 1918.  He was sent to Camp Knox in West Point, Kentucky (What’s now Fort Knox. 🙂 )

Harvey W. Harlow

His son Herman, my grandfather passed away back in July, and my uncle is doing the brunt of going through the house. In some of my grandfather’s things was a bible-a tiny New Testament (it’s smaller than my smartphone).

The front of the bible

The fascinating part is what’s written on the inside. I’m going to type it exactly as it’s written:

“From your Mother

Mrs Leathie Harlow

to hir sun

Mr harvey W Harlow

71 field Artillery

Battry F Camp Knox

West Point KY

in god we trust”

(By the way, this is the same Letha/Leatha/Leathie/Leafy from yesterday’s post *Smile*)

This is one of the few tangible pieces of Harvey’s life-he’s been a real enigma for me and this small look at a mother’s concern is touching and comforting at the same time.

3 Comments

  1. Bobbi Olson said,

    September 6, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Hi – My name is Bobbi and I would love to share any info you have on the Zike family. I do have a copy of the will of Jacob Zike from the Jessamine County Court House in Kentucky. I am wondering if your Jacob Zike and mine are the same person. Thanks Bobbi

    • Bramblefae said,

      September 9, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Hi Bobbi, I am pretty sure that your Jacob Zike and mine are the same-you’ll find that most (if not all) the Zikes are descended from the same Jacob Zike (Or rather Zeuch) and I woud love to see a copy of old Jacob’s will, to be honest. 🙂

  2. Bobbi Olson said,

    September 9, 2012 at 9:52 am

    Is there anyway I can contact you direct? I have some other info you might like. Copies of marriage certs etc. Don’t know how to attach to a comment and would love to share any info you have. Right now I’m trying to follow up on a lead that says Jacob also served in the war of 1812 as a paymaster. Found one reference at the Jessamine County Historical society but no records at the court house. My email should show in your comments.


Leave a Reply

